Commencement Archive


2021 Alexandra D. DiPentima, former chief judge, Connecticut Appellate Court Student Speakers:

  • Muhammet Ekrem Aksoy (Master of Laws)
  • Chelsea C. McCallum (Evening Division)
  • Demery Joelle Ormrod and Mallori Deanna Thompson (Day Division)

2020 Student Speakers:

  • Elvis Ampadu (Master of Laws)
  • Mark Lockwood (Evening Division)
  • Sebastian Iagrossi (Day Division)

2019 Donald B. Verrilli Jr., former U.S. solicitor general video | transcript Student Speakers:

2018 Honorable Cornelia T.L. Pillard, Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit Student Speakers:

  • Marianne Elshof (Master of Laws)
  • Ruth Reynolds Fortune (Evening Division)
  • Andrew Mark Ammirati(Day Division)

2017 Emily Bazelon, Senior Research Scholar, Yale Law School Student Speakers:

  • Alyssa Gabrielle Ablaza Medella (Master of Laws)
  • Benedict Richard Daigle (Evening Division)
  • Ahmed M. Galal (Day Division)

2016 Honorable Christopher F. Droney, Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit Student Speakers:

  • Paolo Junior Trofino (Master of Laws)
  • Kelechi Ndu (Evening Division)
  • Zachary Vincent Alexander (Day Division)

2015 Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law at Columbia Law School and Director of the Poliak Center for the Study of First Amendment Issues at Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism (transcript) Student Speakers:

  • Monica M. Vargas Huertas (Master of Laws) transcript | video
  • Siddharth Sinha (Evening Division)
  • William R. Rath (Day Division)

2014 Barry Scheck, Co-Director of the Innocence Project and Professor of Law at Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law Student Speakers:

  • Rojia Afshar (Master of Laws)
  • Christopher J. Borchert (Day Division)
  • Roopa Modha (Evening Division)

2013 Neal Kumar Katyal, Former Acting Solicitor General of the United States; Paul and Patricia Saunders Professor of Law, Georgetown University; and Partner, Hogan Lovells Student Speakers: Fernando Vieira Luiz (Master of Laws), Donald F. Fenton (Evening Division) and Robert C. Yamartino (Day Division) 2012 The Honorable John R. Lewis, United States Congressman, Georgia, 5th district Student Speakers: Ines Franke (Master of Laws), Sebastiano Toratore (Day Division) and Eduardo A. Torrealba (Evening Division) 2011 The Honorable George C. Jepsen, Attorney General, State of Connecticut Student Speakers: Laura Schmitt (Master of Laws), John A. B. Langmaid (Evening Division) and Hillary C. Wasicek (Day Division 2010 Linda Greenhouse, Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law, Yale Law School Student Speakers: Esteban Carranza (Master of Laws), Patrick R. Linsey (Day Division) and Michael S. Tehan (Evening Division) 2009 Sheila C. Blair, Chairman, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Student Speakers: Tara Lynn Trifon (Evening Division) and Meghan Elizabeth Reilly (Day Division) 2008 The Honorable Chase T. Rogers, Chief Justice, Connecticut Supreme Court Student Speakers: Anthony D. Goodman (Day Division) and Robert M. Schanbaum (Evening Division) 2007 Shirin Ebadi, 2003 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Student Speakers: Robert L. Dunn (Day Division) and Christine R. Edwards (Evening Division) 2006 The Honorable Allyson Duncan, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit Student Speakers: Bruce H. Adams (Day Division) and Heather Alexandria Vernon (Evening Division) 2005 The Honorable Sheppard Arnold, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit 2004 The Honorable Dennis Wayne Archer, Mayor, Detroit Michigan 2003 The Honorable Albie Sachs, Justice Constitutional Court of South Africa 2002 Patricia McGowan Wald, Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit Speech: Lessons Learned from 50 Years in The Legal Profession 2001 Clare Dalton, Matthews Distinguished University Professor, Northeastern  University School of Law 2000 Harold Hongju Koh, Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor for United States 1999 The Honorable Harry T. Edwards, Chief Justice, U.S. Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Student Speaker: Michael A. McHale Toast: Susan V. Chmieleski 1998 The Honorable José A. Cabranes, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit Student Speaker: Brian C. Clifford Toast: Joseph A. Spadaro 1997 The Honorable Joette Katz ’77, Assistant Justice, Connecticut Supreme Court Student Speaker: Peregrine A. J. Zinn-Rowthorn Toast: Alexandra D. Mease-White 1996 Martha L. Minow, Professor, Harvard Law School Student Speaker: John Bailey Kennelly Toast: Henry Keith Snyder 1995 Honorable A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr., Chief Judge Emeritus, U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit Student Speaker: Joshua Evan Greenberg Toast: David L. Gitlin 1994 Morton J. Horwitz, Charles Warren Professor of American Legal History, Harvard Law School Student Speakers: Joseph Charles Steffan (Day Division) and Stephen Edward Shoop (Evening Division) 1993 The Honorable Thomas J. Meskill ’56, Chief Judge, United States Court of  Appeals for the Second Circuit and former Governor, Connecticut Student Speakers: Paula A. Hughes (Day Division) and Peggy Jacobsen Webbe (Evening Division). 1992 The University’s president approved a formal separate ceremony for the School of Law. Floyd Abrams, Esq., Attorney at Law, Cahill, Gordon & Reindel Student Speakers: James P. Biondolillo (Day Division) and Frank E. Rudewicz, Jr. (Evening Division) Toast: Joseph W. McQuade 1991 The Honorable Jon O. Newman, Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit Student Speakers: Theodore  C. Morris (Day Division) and Linda F. Clough (Evening Division 1990 The Honorable Christopher J. Dodd, United States Senator, Connecticut Student Speakers: Frederick M. O’Brien (Day Division) and Kimberly B. Marroni (Evening Division) 1989 The Honorable Lowell P. Weicker Jr., President, Research America, former U.S. Senator for Connecticut [1971-1989] and former Governor of Connecticut [1991-1995] Speech: The Societal Perils of “No New Taxes” Student Speakers: David D. Kennedy (Day Division) and Nyle K. Davey (Evening Division) 1988 Jacob Zeldes, Attorney at Law, Zeldes, Needle and Cooper Speech: The ABCs of the Legal Profession Student Speakers: Thomas V. Dailey (Day Division) and Dennis R. Ferguson (Evening Division) 1987 The Honorable José Cabranes, Judge, U.S. District Court Speech: Bicentennial Celebration of the U.S. Constitution Student Speakers: Michael P. McKeon (Day Division) and Mary B. O’Connor (Evening Division) 1986 The Honorable Ellen A. Peters, Chief Justice, Connecticut Supreme Court [1984-1996], Professor of Law at Yale and later, visiting Professor of Law at University of Connecticut School of Law Speech: History of the Bar and Using Uncertainty in the Law to Bring Forth Justice Student Speaker: Robert J. Cary, Jr. Fact: Red Mass tradition begins